Members' Section

Laytown & Bettystown Golf Club

since 1909
100 years of Links Golfing Excellence

Major Honours & Achievements

In its century of existence Laytown & Bettystown Golf Club has played host to many distinguished names from the golfing world stage. It has also nurtured some fine golfers who have achieved world class status. Many well known names in the world of professional golf began their illustrious careers on the Bettystown links. Here is a small selection of competition winners and outstanding players to have graced the links at Bettystown.

Declan Branigan

Irish International 1975-1986
Irish European Team 1976, 1977, 1981, 1982
Leinster Inter-Provincial 1972-1990
Irish Close Champion 1976, 1981
West of Ireland Champion 1976, 1981
East of Ireland Champion 1981, 1995
Willie Gill Champion 1976, 1981, 1985
Irish Youth Champion 1969.

Declan was East of Ireland and West of Ireland Champion and Irish Close Champion in 1981.This achievement has never been repeated.

Des Smyth

Irish International 1972, 1973
Leinster Inter Pro 1971, 1973
West of Ireland Champion 1973
European Ryder Cup Team 1979, 1981
Vice captain of the Ryder Cup Team 2006.

Des Smyth has been one of our members who has won the Captains Prize (1970) and gone on to be on a winning Ryder Cup Team.

Philip Walton

Philip Walton was also a member of Laytown and Bettystown where he won the Captains' Prize in 1978. He went on to great success on the European Tour and in 1995 sank the winning putt in the Ryder Cup.

Laytown and Bettystown has the distinction of having two members who have won our Captain's Prize and went on to play in the Ryder Cup.

Tracy Eakin

Irish International 1990-1993
Irish member Euro Team 1993
Junior International 1986-1987
Leinster Interprovincial 1990-1993
Leinster Champion 1992
Irish Strokeplay Champion 1993
Leinster Girls Champion 1987
Connaught Girls Champion 1987

Carol Wickham

Irish International 1983-1989
Irish member Euro Team 1983, 1989
U 21 International 1980, 1981
Junior International 1976-1978.
Leinster Inter Pro 1979
Leinster Junior Inter Pro 1978
Irish Girls Champion 1978
Irish Euro Champion (Team) 1983

Philomena Wickham

Irish International 1976, 1986, 1987.
Irish member Euro Team 1986, 1987
Junior International 1975-1976
Connaught Inter Pro 1976-1994
Irish Girls Champion 1976
Connaught Champion 1982, 1985, 1987, 1990
Leinster Champion 1983
Irish Foursomes Champion 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985
Irish Euro Champion (Team) 1983

The Wickham Sisters

Both Carol and Philomena Wickham, who were capped many times for Ireland were members of the history making Irish team that won the European Ladies Team Championship in 1983. The first time ever that two sisters were on the winning team.

Ian Woosnam

2006 Ryder Cup Team Captain Ian Woosnam Played an exhibition match at Laytown & Bettystown in 1986.